Failing to Keep Right Fines Have Doubled for Those Riding in the Left Lane for Purposes Other Than Legal Passing
Garden State schools are back in session around New Jersey this week. That means increased traffic volume during commuting hours and, along with the stress associated with a tough morning or afternoon drive, the temptation to spend excessive amounts of time in the left-hand lane. Motorists need to think twice about that strategy now that Trenton has significantly increased the penalties for violating New Jersey's “keep-right” law. Doubled, in face. This August, Governor Chris Christie signed into law new legislation raising the penalty for failing to “keep-right” on the Garden State's roadways from between $50 and $200 to between $100 and $300. A failing to keep-right violation also continues to impose 2-points on the violator's license. The legislation, which was sponsored by two Camden County legislators, further establishes a public fund, replenished by $50 from each violation assessed, which will go towards financing “Keep Right” signage on New Jersey roadways. You have options if you've been fined for failing to keep right; knowing what your options might be is particularly critical if 2 more points would result in a suspension of your driving privilege. If you or a loved one needs representation in Municipal Court or any municipal court in New Jersey for failing to keep right on a Garden State road or for any other alleged traffic violation, please contact the municipal court defense lawyers at DeMichele & DeMichele today. We are here to defend the charges against you. Contact us now online for your confidential and free initial consultation. You can also reach us by telephone (856) 546-1350. Don't just plead guilty and risk your driving privilege or driving record.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment