PENALTIES FOR TEXTING CAN NOW INCLUDE POTENTIAL LICENSE SUSPENSION
As we told you earlier today, on Thursday, June 27, 2013, Gov. Chris Christie signed legislation that will greatly enhance the fines and penalties for texting or phoning while driving without a hands-free device. What does that mean for New Jersey drivers in practical terms? The bill, S-69, will increase the current fine of $100 to a minimum of $200 and a maximum of $400 for a first offense, $400 to $600 for a second offense, and $600 to $800 for a subsequent offense. The new legislation will also will allow a judge to suspend a third-time offender's license for 90 days. Third and subsequent offenders would receive three motor vehicle penalty points. You can review the NJ MVC point schedule by clicking here. The new fines go into effect in 13 months. The Assembly passed the bill in March but amended it to say that 50 percent of the fines collected would go to the town and county where the violation occurred, the rest to the Motor Vehicle Commission for an education program on the dangers of texting or phoning while driving. The Senate passed the bill in May. Driving and texting greatly increases your chances of an accident. Please don't drive and text. If you or a loved one needs representation in Municipal Court or any municipal court in New Jersey, contact the municipal court defense lawyers at DeMichele & DeMichele today. We are here to defend the charges against you. Contact us now online for your confidential and free initial consultation. You can also reach us by telephone (856) 546-1350. Don't just plead guilty and risk your driving privilege or driving record.