Call Today! 856-546-1350

South Jersey Law Blog

In New Jersey, Violating Probationary License Restrictions Can Cost You

Posted by Matt Rooney | Jun 10, 2016 | 0 Comments

Driving on New Jersey's many roads, highways and byways in 2016 is much more complicated for young motorists than it was “back in the day.” Today, for 17-year-olds who want to get on the road, the MVC enforces a a three-phase or step process towards obtaining a “basic” or regular auto license:

  • Examination permit
  • Probationary license (minimum one year of restricted but unsupervised driving)
  • Basic driver license (must be 18 years old)

To say the restrictions placed on examination permit and probationary license holders are “strict” is putting it mildly. Specifically, even after the permit phase are over, new drivers must observe the following requirements and restrictions until they turn 18 and go through the steps required to obtain a “basic” auto license:

  • “Display a reflectorized decal on each license plate (front/back); decals available at motor vehicle agencies, $4 per pair”
  • “No driving after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m. See GDL Exemptions for exceptions due to employment or religious reasons”
  • “Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependant(s) are allowed as passengers. A dependant is a permit or probationary driver's child, not siblings”
  • “Only one additional passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian”
  • “You can't use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device”
  • “Seat belts must be worn at all times”
  • “See GDL Exemptions for hours-related exemptions for employment or religious reasons”

The state takes violations of probationary driver's license restrictions very seriously. In fact, a driver holding a probationary license may incur increased penalties for routine traffic offenses and he or she is NOT eligible to avoid insurance-hiking points by pleading to the common “Unsafe Operation” downgrade. Don't just plead guilty. As you can see, there are many ins and outs when it comes to overcoming charges related to driving in violation of a New Jersey probationary license and the stakes are high enough to justify reaching out for experienced help. If you have been charged in New Jersey, please contact DeMichele and DeMichele at (856) 546-1350 to schedule a free and confidential consultation.    We are ready to prepare a vigorous defense for you! _________

About the Author

Matt Rooney

Practice Areas: Family Law (including Divorce, Alimony, Child Support, and Domestic Violence); Municipal Court; Personal Injury; Residential Real Estate; Civil Litigation; Collections.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today

DeMichele + DeMichele, P.C. is committed to answering your questions about Divorce, Custody & Parenting Time, Child Support, Alimony, Personal Injury, Municipal & Criminal Defense, and Real Estate law issues in New Jersey.

We’ll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.

Menu