Governor Christie Signs Legislation Increasing Fines and Raising Specter of License Suspension for Texting While Driving in New Jersey
Texting while driving in New Jersey just got more expensive. Last week, Governor Chris Christie signed into law legislation sponsored by Assemblywoman Nancy F. Muñoz who represents portions of Union, Morris and Somerset counties. Before this bill's effective date, texting while driving elicited a $100 fine. Going forward, fines for a first offense will range from $200 to $400, between $400 and $600 for a second offense, and for a third or subsequent violation, a relatively hefty fine of somewhere between $600 and $800. That's an expensive text! And it gets worse. Third or subsequent offenders could also face a 90 day license suspension and three motor vehicle points. “Driving is a privilege that comes with the responsibility of devoting one's full attention to the road,” said Asw. Muñoz in a statement after the Governor signed her bill into law. “Those who fail to take this responsibility seriously endanger themselves, their passengers and other drivers. When a person is illegally using a cell phone or texting, they are distracted and pose a serious risk to other drivers and pedestrians. It only takes a moment of inattention to cause a lifetime of irreparable harm for someone or their family. Respecting and abiding by the rules of the road is not an option, it is mandatory and now the law.” We're here to help if texting has put your pocketbook and license in jeopardy. Don't hesitate to contact the Municipal Court defense lawyers at DeMichele & DeMichele if you or a loved one are facing charges in Municipal Court including driving while texting. A confidential free consultation with an experienced Municipal Court attorney is just a call (856) 546-1350 or click away.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment